top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuna Ross

Janelle Monae: Representation Matters

Many people say there is power in music. True! There’s also power in representation. On July 28th, I got to meet, for the second time in my life, my idol, Janelle Monae. I must admit, our first encounter was not the best; I didn’t get a hug or to really speak to her. It was more like a picture and an autograph and that’s that. That was back in 2011. But, this time I was determined to get a hug.


My admiration for Janelle Monae started before 2011; way before that. I’m going to go on a limb and say 2007-2008ish. Believe it or not, the first time I ever heard of Janelle was from the news blog Media Take Out. Yes, I used to frequent that blog quite often. Nothing I am too proud of but, it is what is it. We all learn and grow. Anyway, I heard the song “Many Moons” and I was in love with the song. The video came shortly after that and I was officially a Fandriod. Me, being someone who is, some might same, eccentric, it was amazing. The Science Fiction aspect of it was right up my ally. I love Science Fiction so, I was hooked.


Stereotypically speaking, I wasn’t “that” black girl. I was into more of the Science of things and more into “nerdy” things. I couldn’t stand Romance movies because I thought they were cheesy. I was always into SciFi and Horror. Those were always my go-to things. While people fawned over Christmas, I was always down for Halloween. Not because of the candy, that was part of it. It had more to do with dressing up as someone or something different and just being as weird and silly as you wanted and people would contribute it to the holiday instead of the person. But, for me, I was that person and I hid myself away because I didn’t want to be judged for being that person. But, when I listened to Janelle’s album “Metropolis: Suite I” I felt like this was someone who got me.


“Violet Stars Are Happy Hunting” opens up with “I’m an alien from outer space”, which is how I felt most of my life and sometimes, unfortunately, still do. I know she plays a character, Cindi Mayweather, but, it’s still something that really resonated with me. The beat is fire too. I think I can really say that that is my favorite song she’s made. 2011 is when she came down to Miami with Bruno Mars to perform this album and some from The ArchAndriod. There I was, standing next to my idol. So excited!


The ArchAndriod came out a couple of years later; after Metropolis. It was amazing. Dance or Die and Faster got me hyped. But, Cold War was like my theme song. The song still makes me cry at times. “So you think that I’m alone. But being alone is the only way to be. When you step outside. You spend life fighting for your sanity” These are the first lines to the song and this is how I literally felt at the time. But the third verse is what did me in, “I’m trying to find my peace. I was made to believe there’s something wrong with me. And it hurts my heart. Lord have mercy, ain’t it plain to see?” Still feel this way at times!


Electric Lady was next. Though it’s not my favorite album from her discography, a lot of the songs still got me moving. “We Were Rock and Roll” is my love. And now we have “Dirty Computer”. This album was surly needed at this point in time. This album definitely takes on a more political tone. With the rise of racism, sexism, transphobia, etc. Janelle sings about this in this much-anticipated album; feel like I was waiting forever for this thing. This year, Janelle openly came out as Pansexual and rumored (I mean, really) to be dating Tessa Thompson. Both of them addressed how they felt about each other. Janelle released 4 songs before the album dropped; Django Jane, Make Me Feel, I Like That and Pynk. Of the four, Pynk really got me hyped. I played that song about 10 times in a row, I love it so much. It is a celebration of womanhood, lesbians, and vaginas. Though I can not relate on the lesbian scale, I am a woman; a very black one and I proudly have a vagina. The video was equally as nice. So many beautiful black women from all shades and shapes were represented. So much Black Girl Magic going around. “Dirty Computer” is my favorite album all around. Janelle openly celebrates being a proud black woman, being a proud black, queer woman. Janelle addresses the hate from America’s current administration.


Anyway, when I met Janelle this time, I just had to tell her how much she has helped me. Being proud to be the “weird” black girl that is way too into SciFi. It’s refreshing to have someone like that in the spotlight. Anyway, I can go on and on but, I think I’ll stop here.

bottom of page