top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuna Ross

Facebook Dating

Earlier this year, Facebook announced that they were getting into the business of online dating. Ironically, a lot of people currently use Facebook to shoot their shot. I am not one of those people and my messenger is almost always dry when it comes to these shots being shot.


Right now, it’s in the early stages of the rolling out and Facebook has decided to roll it out to certain areas. Guess who is one of those lucky areas? ME! Knowing that online dating has not worked out for me in the past and present, I decided to continue to torture myself by giving this a try. I’m going into this as just another thing I am trying out; not thinking that I am really going to meet someone out of this. Not being pessimistic, just being realistic. It’s Facebook!


To start off, your Facebook profile is independent of your dating profile however, it does pull information from your profile to add to your dating profile. This information can be edited to what you want. The interface is simple; your main picture, name, age, location, height etc. additionally, you can add a series of answers to short questions you add to your profile. I think these are some good conversation starters or a better way to gauge your personality. Not required but, something I’d recommend. You can also add your Instagram profile but, I am opting out of doing this.


On your home screen, at the top, there is your profile picture, “liked you”, “conversations” and settings in the right, top corner. You are greeted with a picture of one of your possible matches, which also includes their name and age. You can either; click ♥, click X, or click their picture to see their profile. I usually click the profile if I am attracted to their picture. I like reading profiles because it gives me what they are like and whether I feel we will be a good match. Plus, I need to look for red flags.


That’s pretty much it. It doesn’t have a lot of meat on it. I am assuming because it is still pretty new. So, I cannot accurately gauge it yet. I do, however, have one gripe with it. In every dating site/app I’ve ever tried, we include our preferences. This is the same here. The preferences include; children, religion, height, age, etc. I would go out on a limp and say, these are important to most people. Now, I filled this out in order to get better, more suitable matches for me. My number one preference is always going to be someone without children. It is a deal-breaker for me. I clicked the box that said, “he doesn’t have children”, so, why am I getting so many matches with guys who have children? The children are literally in their profile pictures. It’s odd. I don’t know if it is slow to update the preferences because I actually changed it a day ago but, I’ve been clicking X on a lot of guys.


Like I said before, it is still in its early stages so, I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt when it comes to this little thing. I do hope that this gets better over time and that there is more to it than just want is currently given. I am not sure if they plan on making a payment version, as all the others do but, right now, I do not think it is worth paying for. So far, no luck on finding a match for me but, it hasn’t been a full week.


Anyone else using it? If so, what do you think so far? If not, do you plan on using it in the future? What are your thoughts about it overall?


*Due to Facebook’s privacy settings, you can not screenshot your profile or others.

bottom of page