top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuna Ross

What A Lost Connection Taught Me



I just had an experience that prompted me to write this post. Sometimes we have crushes. Sometimes those people do not feel the same, sometimes they do. Around March of 2019, there was someone that I knew had feelings for me. I knew this because of the stares, the glances, especially when he thought I wasn't looking; plus, my pure intuition. I had only seen him around twice. I thought he was an attractive guy.

For months, the only words we would say to each other were good morning. For months I could see him checking me out. I'm sure he didn't know that I noticed. I'm very observant. We danced around each other for a while, pretending like there was nothing there. Finally, I took the initiative and decided to start a conversation. He looked very excited to be talking with me. I asked him about his job and what it entailed. It was a simple conversation opener.

Halloween changed everything! Somehow my costume gave him the courage to say what he wanted to say. I'd never seen someone so excited about a costume. The small conversations continued yet, it seems, he still couldn't tell me how he felt. I was waiting and hoping he would. The first week of December came, after our Thanksgiving break, and he seemed eager to talk to me. I was on the fence on whether I should just come right out and say something, but at the same time, I wanted him to be the first.

A few days passed and, something happened. He was gone! From what I heard; he was having family issues. So, I waited a week to reach out to him via social media and he did something that shocked me. He blocked me. No explanation, no anything. He just blocked me. I didn't have words. There was no reason for him to do that to me. Especially since, a few days before he left, everything was fine. My shock turned into anger!

The lesson I learned from this is, sometimes the universe removes people from our lives that do not serve a purpose or who are not supposed to be there. People that aren't going to be good for us in the end. Sometimes the universe protects us from something it doesn't want us to experience. It could be heartache, pain, tension, etc.

This also taught me about the type of man I want as a life partner. My partner is going to be open and honest with me. He's going to tell me exactly how he feels, and I won't second guess myself. Communication is a huge thing for me, and it must be open and honest. Being docile is not an attractive trait to me.

I am grateful to the universe for looking out for me. When the time is right, the right one will come along, and it will feel effortless.

bottom of page