top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuna Ross

Religion & Spirituality

Religion is a hot button topic. I’ve been very open about my spirituality for a little while now; I am not a religious person. I chose to leave religion at a very young age. I was eight years old when I told my mother that I did not like going to church. I just knew it did not feel right to me. My mother and I talked about it and, she agreed to let me stay home from church.


I’ve touched on this a little bit in my previous posts I’m Not My Mother and Sexuality and Spirituality posts, I have my opinions about organized religion. One of my biggest grievances about organized religion is the fact that there are “rules” you are supposed to live by. Rules that many, who call themselves Christians, don’t even live by. In my experience, I’ve seen a lot of Christians pick and choose what they want to believe from the bible. If you are going to be a Christian, you have to follow everything, am I wrong?


With spirituality, I feel a sense of freedom. There is no rule book on how to practice or rules to follow. You practice what feels right for your heart and mind. I like to meditate to calm my mind. Sometimes I do guided meditation and then other times I will listen to some music. My band of choice is Enigma. My brother meditates as well; he referred to some dark jazz music to get me into the mood. Most of the time, when I meditate, I lay down on my bed, with my eyes closed and my palms up. Laying down is a comfortable position for me. I have fallen asleep before due to being too relaxed. I’ve even tried staring into the flame to concentrate on the meditation. My mind tends to wander so, anything that will bring me back to focus helps.


I believe you get different energies from different crystals. I’ve been studying up on the power of crystals; I use that information accordingly. I also believe in the power of the universe. Christians pray to God or Jesus; I talk to the universe about what I want. I like to set my intentions, light a candle, and meditate over it. This is my way of sending my wants and needs out to let the universe do its thing. Others will pray to their ancestors and ask them for help.


Spirituality is not a one size fits all type of deal. As I said before, it all depends on what you feel in your heart and mind. The journey is going to be different for everyone. And contrary to what others think, it’s not all love and light. There will be dark days and days where you feel uncertain about things. When your intentions and mind are calm, so many good things happen.

bottom of page