top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuna Ross

Let's Catch Up

Hey, everyone. It’s been a little while since I posted something. I am still trying to navigate being laid off. I am grateful that I still have something coming in via unemployment and I received a severance lump sum from my former company. So, I am not stressed out completely. I am still searching for a job but; I have some ideas on what I can do to get noticed in this up and down job market.



So, the real reason I am writing this post. Everyone, I am officially writing my first book. I am so excited about this because I’ve always wanted to write professionally but I just didn’t have the balls, as you will, to go for it. Since being laid off, I have been writing and editing like crazy. This one will be a novella. I thought of a collection of short stories but; I decided on the novella instead. Sometimes I am like, why did I do a novella. My attention span is tiny. So, I don’t work on it every day, though in my head I do. Sometimes I need to wait for the inspiration to come. Some days are better than others.


It’s been 2 weeks and I am on chapter 5 and almost done writing. After the writing, I must reread, edit, proofread, etc. I’m using my brother as a proofreader because he is unbelievably creative. You all should hear his stories. I plan on self-publishing. It’s funny because I went into Barnes and Noble on Monday and found a book on self-publishing. I wasn’t looking for the book but; it was staring me right in the face. I had to get it. I am learning a lot about self-publishing and researching copyrights. I am excited about this and I finally feel like I am making my dreams come true.


I am ready to go to my storage unit and pull out my childhood writings. I’m sure my imagination was more vivid than it is now.



You’re probably wondering what my book is about! Well, I am a lover of Science Fiction, Mystery, Horror, and Fantasy. So, I want to write more in the vein of those genres. This novella is more of a Mystery/Fantasy. I won’t share the plot just yet; I don’t even have a name for the book yet. But, as the weeks go by, I will be more open with information regarding it. It’s finally my time.

bottom of page